Chimera award

A few words to explain why we chose the name "Chimera" for this award.

Chimera was a monster in the Greek mythology: it had a lion head, a goat body and a dragon tail: being a monster, it can well represent drug addiction as a monster that must be defeated.

But, in the poetical language, the term "Chimera" means unrealizable dreams, impossible imaginations: and in this sense, it still well represents the attempt made by doctors of realizing their dream of helping drug addicts.

In both senses, therefore, we can say that some kind of physicians, those who try to treat drug addiction, run after "chimeras", both to kill the monster, and to realize their dream of helping drug addicts.

The Europad Chimera Award has been given to:


(Grenoble, France)

Angelo G. I. Maremmani - Italy

Genci Mucullari - Albania

Stephan Walcher - Germany

Herman Joseph - USA - Career Award


(Krakow, Poland)

Maurice Dematteis - France

Matteo Pacini - Italy

Gabrielle Welle-Strand - Norway

Mark Parrino& - USA - Career Award


(Leiden, The Netherlands)

Einat Peles - Israel

Ambros Uchtenhagen - Switzerland

Peter Vossenberg - The Netherlands

Jean-Pierre Daulouede - France - Career Award


(Glasgow, UK)

Thomas Clausen - Norway

Vladimir Mendelevich - Russia

Lorenzo Somaini - Italy

Mary Jeanne Kreek - USA - Career Award


(Barcelona, Spain)

Miguel Casas - Spain

Pascal Courty - France

Helge Waal - Norway

Robert Newman - USA - Career Award


(Zagreb, Croatia)

Sergey Dvoryak (Kiev, Ukraine)

Luis Patricio (Lisbon, Portugal, EU)

Slavko Sakoman (Zagreb, Croatia)

Loretta Finnegan (Avalon, NJ, USA) - Career Award


(Sofia, Bulgaria)

Gabriele Fischer (Vienna, Austria, EU))

Andrej Kastelic (Ljubljana, Slovenia, EU)

Didier Touzeau (Paris, France, EU)


(Pietrasanta, Italy)

Joyce Lowinson (USA) received a Special Chimera Award, during the 3rd EUROPAD-ITALIA Conference


(Bratislava, Slovak Republic)

Gilberto Gerra (Italy)

Marta Torrens (Spain)

Ante Ivancic (Croatia)


(Paris, France)

Pier Paolo Pani (Italy)

Jean-Jacques Deglon (Switzerland)

Alexander Kantchelov (Bulgaria)

Icro Maremmani (Italy), Marc Reisinger (Belgium) and Alessandro Tagliamonte (Italy) received a Carreer Chimera Award


(Oslo, Norway)

Marc Auriacombe (France)

Mercedes Lovrecic (Slovenia)

Lubomir Okhrulica (Slovak Republic)


(Valenzano, Arezzo, Italy)

Olof Blix (Sweden)